Re-election on NA31 demanded - Pakistan News Digest

Re-election on NA31 demanded

Peshawar: Rejecting the election results on NA31 and provincial assembly seats PK31, 32 and 33, a group of candidates from these constituencies, demanded of Election commission to conduct re-election by ensuring transparency and impartiality in the electoral process.

The demand was made by JUIF candidate from NA12 Ashfaq Ahmad Khan, PTI PK31 candidate Yousaf Ali, JI PK32 Mushtaq Ahmad Khan, PTI Zahoor Ahmad and PPP Malik Jehan Akbar and JI candidate from PK33 Mehmoodul Hassan, PTI Engr Zubair, ANP Mohammad Ashfaq Khan and JUI Ideological Maulana Saleh Mohammad Zubair while speaking at joint press conference here at press club on Monday.

Ashfaq Khan alleged that Awami Jamhoori Ittihad, a panel of different political parties for seizing the polling stations in these constituencies, and polled bogus votes with support of presiding officer and other election commission staff. He further accused the AJI candidates had spent millions of rupees for selling votes. He said the panel was broken all records of rigging in the constituency NA31.

He said that a polling station was established at Sheikh Maltoon, wherein bogus votes polled with help of a large number of nurses and lady health workers. He said clashes between political workers were also reported, while police supported to people allegedly involved in rigging.

Mushtaq said the staff members of Nadra and postal office also involved in rigging, due to which 80 per cent postal ballots were not received, and used in favour of AJI panel, termed it was glare example of rigging in the polls.

He further informed that polling was also stopped for an hour in NA31 despite clear instructions from ECP for carrying out the electoral process without any interval. He alleged the polling staffs had polled bogus votes during this short break time.

The candidates demanded of Election Commission to immediate declare the results on NA31, and PK31, 32 and 33 as null and void, and announced to hold fresh election in theses constituencies.


Related Posts


You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply