Polling for AJK Legislative Assembly elections to be held tomorrow

Polling for the Azad Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly will be held tomorrow (Sunday).

Our Muzaffarabad correspondent, Badshah Khan reports that the polling process will begin at 0800 hours and continue till 5:00 p.m with no break.

More than three point two million registered voters will exercise their right to vote to elect their representatives for Azad Kashmir Legislative Assembly for next term.

AJK Election Commission has finalized all arrangements to hold free, fair, and transparent elections. All out security arrangements have also been made so that voters could cast their vote in a peaceful manner without any fear and pressure.

The Kashmiris living in any city of Pakistan will exercise their vote to choose their candidates on 12 constituencies meant of Jammu and Kashmir refugees settled in various parts of Pakistan.

A total of 587 candidates are contesting the elections in 33 constituencies of Azad Kashmir districts and 121 candidates on 12 constituencies of Jammu and Kashmir refugees settled in Pakistan.

Over 40 thousand security personals including PAK Army, FC, Rangers & Police will perform duties to ensure peaceful polling.

5118 polling stations have been set up in all three divisions, Muzaffarabad, Poonch, and Mirpur. Out of the total 830 polling stations are very sensitive while 1269 are sensitive.

Following polling, all divisional and district government offices will remain open today and tomorrow (Sunday). The election scheduled for 8 reserved seats will be announced after the general elections.

Meanwhile, Election Commission has directed commissioners Muzaffarabad, Poonch, and Mirpur Divisions to dispatch presiding officers and other election staff to the polling stations concerned in full security.

Similarly, at the end of polling tomorrow, presiding officers along with polling bags would be escorted in full security up to the office of the returning officer concerned so as to ensure fair and transparent elections.

The security staff will be present up to the official declaration of the results at the offices of the district and returning officers.

According to the media code of conduct issued by the Election Commission, entry pass holders would be allowed for coverage.

On the other hand in Punjab, all necessary electoral, administrative and security arranagements have been finalized to ensure holding of free, fair and transparent Azad Jammu and Kashmir elections on nine seats reserved for Kashmiri refugees tomorrow.

Meanwhile, in Provincial Capital Lahore, polling will be held for two constituencies LA-34 Jammu One and LA-41 Kashmir Valley Two.

A total of 9194 registered voters will use their right of vote in these two Lahore constituencies, where twenty five polling stations have been set up.

Strict security measures will be taken and under the finalized security plan to ensure peaceful polling environment and avoid any untoward incident at polling stations.

Corona related SOPs will also be strictly implemented inside and outside all polling stations in the province.

Source: Radio Pakistan