NA Standing Committee on Industries and Production meets | Pakistan News Digest

NA Standing Committee on Industries and Production meets

NA Standing Committee on Industries and Production meets

5th meeting of the Standing Committee on Industries and Production of the National Assembly was held today i.e. 8th July, 2019 at 03:00 p.m., in Constitution Room (Old Committee Room No. 5), Parliament House Islamabad, under the chairmanship of Mr. Sajid Hussain Turi, MNA.

2. The Director General (Explosive), Ministry of Industries and Production presented a short brief on working and performance by Department of Explosives (DOE). He mentioned the efforts made for upgradation and modernization of department of explosives. He informed the Committee about shifting of head office from Private Building to Government building was near to completion. He also informed that DOE has appointed twelve Assistant Directors (through FPSC).

3. Members expressed their grave concern over the accidents caused by LPGs and CNGs cylinders. The Committee Members also inquired the DG (Explosives) about the storage capacity limit and explosive license.

4. The Advisor to Hon. Prime Minister on Industries and Production and Secretary, Ministry of Industries and Production briefed the Committee about the pros and cons of the revival plans for Pakistan Steel Mills (PSM). They said that the ECC of the Cabinet in its meeting of 3rd May 2019 has directed to place PSM on Privatization List and further directed Ministry of Industries and Production to make a formal proposal in this regard to CCoP, which was competent forum for the purpose. The Committee Members were keen to inquire the issues of mismanagement and pensions of PSM employees. The Advisor to PM informed about Public Private Partnership (PPP) to be established in PSM. A Member of the Committee was of the opinion that before adoption PPP model, the federal government should consult with government of Sindh. The Committee showed its concern to visit PSM location.

5. The meeting was attended by MNAs Mr. Muhammad Akram, Ms. Shandana Gulzar Khan, Ms. Sajida Begum, Mr. Usama Qadri, Mr. Ali Gohar Khan, Rana Muhammad Ishaq Khan, Mr. Riaz ul Haq, Mr. Asif Ali Zardari, Mahar Irshad Ahmad Khan besides the senior officers of Ministry of Industries and Production.



Related Posts


You must be logged in to post a comment Login