General Islamabad

Islamabad: Ms. Bushra Gohar was unanimously elected chairperson of the Parliamentary Committee on the appointment of the Chairperson of the National Commission on Status of Women in a meeting of the Committee held in Parliament House on Wednesday.

The name of Ms. Bushra Gohar for the Chairpersonship was proposed by Mrs. Saira Afzal Tarar, MNA and seconded by all the members of the Committee. Secretary, National Assembly Karamat Hussain Niazi conducted the election of the chairperson.

Ms. Bushra Gohar thanked her fellow parliamentarians for reposing confidence on her by electing her as Chairperson of the one of the important Parliamentary Committees.

She said that she would make the proceedings of the committee purposeful with collective efforts of her colleagues. Other members of the committee individually congratulated her on becoming the Chairperson of the Committee.

On the behalf of Dr. Fehmida Mirza, Speaker and Faisal Karim Kundi, Deputy Speaker, Secretary, National Assembly congratulated her on her election as Chairperson of the Parliamentary Committee and assured of all out support of National Assembly Secretariat for smooth functioning of the committee.