FAFEN records 62 postings and transfers

General Karachi

ISLAMABAD: The Free and Fair Election Network FAFEN’s District Long Term Observers DLTOs has recorded postings and transfers in 32 districts across the country. A total of 62 postings and transfers have been recorded among police, judiciary, district administration, and other government offices.

The highest number of postings and transfers was observed in the police department, with 42 police officials changed during March 1 to 15, 2013, says a press release issued by FAFEN on Wednesday. FAFEN observers reported postings and transfers in 32 districts across the country from March 1 to 15, 2013.

In total, observers noted 62 cases of postings and transfers. Most cases 38 were reported in 15 Sind districts Mirpurkhas, Malir, Tando Mohammad Khan, Shaheed Benazirabad, Khairpur, Jamshoro, Jacobabad, Thatta, Umerkot, Naushehro Feroz, Matiari, Ghotki, Shikarpur, Badin and Larkana.

Another 15 postings and transfers were reported in 10 KP districts – Bannu, Lakki Marwat, Tank, Dera Ismail Khan, Mardan, Karak, Tor Ghar, Swabi, Abbottabad and Charsadda. Seven postings and transfers were recorded in six Punjab districts Vehari, Hafizabad, Jhang, Bahawalpur, Gujrat and Khushab. Two were reported from Balochistan’s Kharan district.

A total of 62 postings and transfers were recorded by FAFEN observers among police, district administration, judiciary, education/health departments, and other public offices in the 32 observed districts. The highest number of postings and transfers was observed in the police department, with 42 police officials, including 15 District Police Officers DPOs, 21 Station House Officers SHOs, and six Deputy Superintendents of Police DSPs changed in Punjab, Sind and KP.

A total of 25 changes were made in the police department of Sind, where seven DPOs were reshuffled in Khairpur, Shaheed Benazirabad, Naushehro Feroz and Jamshoro. The total also includes 16 SHOs transferred in Shaheed Benazirabad, and one each in Tando Mohammad Khan and Matiari.

Among the four police department transfers in Punjab, three DPOs were transferred in Hafizabad, Jhang, and Bahawalpur, while one SHO was changed in Vehari. Another 13 changes were observed in the police department of KP, including the transfer of five DPOs in Bannu, Lakki Marwat, Karak, Swabi and Abbottabad. Three DSPs in Tank, three DSPs in Dera Ismael Khan, and one SHO each in Tank and Charsadda were also transferred.

Six judicial officials were transferred, all in Sind. Five District & Sessions Judges of Tando Mohammad Khan, Khairpur, Mirpurkhas, Thatta, Umerkot and one Additional District & Sessions Judge of Ghotki were transferred during the reporting period.

Four District Coordination Officers DCOs and one Assistant Commissioner AC were shifted, including the DCOs of Khushab and Bahawalpur and an AC of Gujrat, all in Punjab. The DCO of Jacobabad in Sind was changed, along with the Deputy Commissioner of Kharan in Balochistan.

The Executive District Officer EDO Education of Tor Ghar KP and the EDO Health of Kharan Balochistan were transferred. Six other public servants in the Sind districts of Mirpurkhas, Malir, Shikarpur, Badin and Larkana were also posted, whereas one additional public servant in Mardan KP was also posted.