UNGA to elect 5 non-permanent SC’s members including Pakistan today

United Nations General Assembly in its session today will elect five new non-permanent members of Security Council including Pakistan.

The newly elected members will serve for a two-year term from January 1, 2025, to December 31, 2026.

They will replace Japan, Ecuador, Malta, Mozambique, and Switzerland, whose terms will expire on December 31 this year.

Pakistan has received the endorsement of the 53-member Asian Group. This will be Pakistan’s eighth term serving on the UN Security Council.

The Security Council consists of 15 countries, including five permanent members and ten non-permanent members.

Source: Radio Pakistan