PC for caretaker PM concludes its second meeting without any decision

General Islamabad

ISLAMABAD: An eight-member parliamentary committee formed to evolve a consensus and finalize a name for the caretaker prime minister, concluded its second meeting on Thursday without deciding any name.

Speaking to media after the meeting, Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) representative Farooq H. Naek said the decision to meet again tomorrow (Friday) is in line with the constitutional mandate and hoped that a name will be decided upon soon.

Representative of Pakistan Muslim League- Nawaz (PML-N) Sardar Yaqoob Nasir said the decision should be reached by Friday. The committee that was formulated by National Assembly speaker Dr Fehmida Mirza was given time till Friday to finalise a name for the caretaker prime minister.

If a decision is not reached within the prescribed time, the matter will be handed over to the Election Commission of Pakistan, which will finalize a name within two days. The members includes- Sardar Mahtab Ahmad Abbasi, Sardar Yaqoob Nasir, Pervez Rasheed, Saad Rafiq, Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain, Farooq H. Naek, Khurshid Shah and Ghulam Ahmad Bilour.

The committee has the mandate to choose a candidate for the position of caretaker prime minister within three days’ time. Under the constitution, the parliamentary committee has to evolve a consensus on one name for the caretaker prime minister within three days and if it fails to do so in the stipulated time, the matter will automatically go to the Election Commission, which will have to finalize one name out of four, two each from the prime minister and the opposition leader in the National Assembly, which was dissolved on March 16.