NA Standing Committee on SAFRON meets | Pakistan News Digest

NA Standing Committee on SAFRON meets

Islamabad; The National Assembly Standing Committee on States and Frontier Regions (SAFRON) met today at 11:00 a.m. in Committee Room of old PIPS Hall, Parliament Lodges, Islamabad under the Chairmanship of Mr. Sajid Khan, MNA.

2. The Committee discussed the issues are being faced by the Khasadar and Lavy Forces after merging in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Police and law and order situation in erstwhile FATA in detail and decided that Secretary, Home and Tribal Affairs Department and I.G of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Police would be invited in the next meeting to brief the Committee over the issues being faced by the said forces. The Secretary, Ministry of SAFRON while briefing the meeting, informed that Rs. 1 billion and 29 cror approved for payment of salaries with arrears to the Khasadar force of South Waziristan District and would be released by the Ministry of Finance by tomorrow hopefully.

3. The issue of alleged sale and purchase of awarding contract of development schemes in erstwhile FATA also came under discussion whereupon the Committee expressed its great concern and made a SubCommittee with the following composition and ToR:


1. Mr. Gul Dad Khan Convener

2. Mr. Gul Zafar Khan Member

3. Mr. Sajid Hussian Turi Member

4. Mr. Ali Wazir Member


To probe into the alleged sale and purchase of development schemes in erstwhile FATA as raised during meeting and to recommend steps to ensure transparency and curb corrupt practices in awarding contract of development schemes.

4. The Ministry of SAFRON will facilitate and assist the SubCommittee in finalizing its report.

5. The Secretary, Higher Education Department of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Chief Economist P&D Department also briefed the Committee over the steps being taken for promotion of higher education in merged districts (erstwhile FATA).

6. The meeting was attended by MNAs: Mr. Saleh Muhammad, Mr. Gul Dad Khan, Mr. Gul Zafar Khan, Syed Iftikhar Ul Hassan, Mr. Muhammad Afzal Khokhar, Mr. Sajid Hussian Turi, Mr. Muhamamd Jamal Ud Din and Mr. Ali Wazir and Officers/Officials of the Ministry and its attached Departments.



Related Posts


You must be logged in to post a comment Login