JCP notifies its two members as tenure of earlier members ended

ISLAMABAD: The Chief Justice of Pakistan/Chairman, Judicial Commission of Pakistan (JCP) on Friday nominated Justice Rahmat Hussain Jafferi, former judge of the Supreme Court, as member of the Judicial Commission of Pakistan.

The appointment has been made under Article 175A(2)(iii) of the Constitution for a period of two years w.e.f. December 10, 2012 in place of Justice Ch Ijaz Ahmed, whose tenure as member ended on November 3, 2012.

The nomination has been made in consultation with the four members of the Commission- Justice Tasadduq Hussain Jilani, Justice Nasir-ul-Mulk, Justice Jawwad S. Khawaja and Justice Anwar Zaheer Jamali and notification in this regard stands issued on December 10, 2012.

The nomination of Kamran Murtaza, Advocate Supreme Court, made by the Balochistan Bar Council as member of the Commission under Article 175A(5)(iv) of the Constitution for a period of two years in place of Muhammad Kamran Mulakhail whose tenure expired on November 3, 2012, has also been notified by the Commission.