AJK: AKCDC approves development schemes worth Rs. 7.29billion


Islamabad: The Azad Jammu and Kashmir Cabinet Development Committee AKCDC approved development schemes worth Rs 7.29 billion on Friday during a meeting with AJK Prime Minister Ch. Abdul Majeed in chair at Kashmir house Islamabad.

PM Majeed said the government believed in indiscriminate development across the state and aimed to eliminate the sense of deprivation among people living in remote areas and directed the authorities to focus on timely completion of projects.

For the transport and communication sector, the committee approved Rs 318.289 million for up gradation of the 12 Km Part I KotliPalandri road, Rs251.108 million for improvement and metalling of the 25.57 Km patch of Lakarmandi to Paintra Tehsil Barnala District Bhimber and Rs 367 million for different link roads in Muzaffarabad Division.

For power sector, the committee allocated an amount of Rs: 372.005 million for 4.0MW Jari Hydro Power Project, Rs: 227.859 million for 1.0 MW Bheri Doba Hydro Project, Rs: 399.781 million for 3.2 MW Sharian Hydro Power Project and Rs 2624.74 million for the electrification of remaining areas of District Havali, Hattian, Neelum, Bagh, Sudhnoti, Bhimber, Mirpur, Muzaffarabad and Poonch.

For the education sector, Rs392.409 million were approved for strengthening of forest research and development and Rs 225.318 million for promotion of economic trees for commercial wood production in AJK.

A total of Rs 223.797 million were approved for establishment of 100 skill development centers in AJK, Rs 364.716 million for promotion of facilities for establishment of vendor based small scale industries by educated skilled youth, Rs: 127.234 million for development of land for using remote sending data and GIS in AJK.

The meeting was attended by various AJK ministers including Chaudhry Muhammad Yasin, Bazil Ali Naqvi, Chaudhry Mohammad Arshad, Chaudhry Rasheed, Ali Shan Soni, Pervaiz Ashraf, Javeed Ayub, Fasial Rahtor and Azhar Gillani as well as secretaries of the government.